Timberline Trading Night at I-35 Speedway Winston, MO

At I-35 we honored our hero’s that made the ultimate sacrifice so we have the freedom to race and be free. To our Fallen Veterans we salute you on this Memorial Weekend with the rolling cross!!!!

Racing action kicked off as Pure Stock would take to the smooth fast 3/8th mile speedway. The green flag would fall on two occasions as the front row would be replaced and the green would then be shown to the field. Heat race winner Ronnie Ishmael #02 would set the pace early until Cletus Murray #21M and Tim Hoselton #22H would challenge for the front. As the race progressed a young face and name would climb to the top of the leader board as other heat race winner Austin O’Neal #11 would move out front. Driving with experience way beyond his years this young may would hold off all challengers. After post-race inspection second place finisher Jacob Grotewiel #11J was declared the winner. Grotewiel was in the hunt the entire race and picks up his second win on the 2017 racing season at I-35 Speedway. Cletus Murray#21M would charge through the pack to place a solid second with Justin Adkins #15 again showing some muscle placing a solid third. Ronnie Ishmael would fade slightly late to place fourth as Tyler Cadwallader #69er would round out the nights top five.

Midwest Outlaw Vintage Racers would roar to the track bringing back those fond memories of racing from the past. The green flag would drop on the field #7 Dennis Fair would jump to the lead and pull away about four car lengths on the field. Ron LeFholz #20L would race through the pack from a back row starting position and make his move for the front spinning in turn #1 & #2 bringing out the yellow flag. LeFholz would start in the back again and work his way through the field making his move on the last turn of the last lap to pick up the win. Jack Simmons #J2 would make his presence felt with a solid second as heat race winner Fair would fade late to finish third. Andrew Buffington #3 would place fourth with Chris Heitman #39 ending the night fifth.
E-Modified would try and tame the track next as heat race winner Matthew Lance #12X would take the early lead setting a blistering pace for the rest of the field to match. Lance would lead from green to checkers picking up his first win of 2017 at I-35 Speedway. Lance would be challenged the entire race by the likes of Jim Masoner Jr #66X , big mover of the feature Chris Mercer #13 and Randy Smith Jr #75X . As Lance would celebrate in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle Mercer would place second holding other heat race winner Smith to third and Masoner fourth. John Christofferson #55B would race to a solid fifth place run on the night of E-Modified action. Hard Charger of the race was Manlee Lamar #4M.

Grand Nationals would put on a feature to remember as we would see a first time winner. Ronnie Miller #98 would take the lead and appear to be the car to beat in the ear in the early stages of the feature. As the race progressed Chad Fuller #0R would use the low line to perfection and pass Miller to take over the lead. Heat race winner Donnie Brown #26 would go through the spin cycle and jump the birm in turn #2 bringing out the caution. Brown would tag his car to the rear and work back through traffic challenging Fuller but to no avail as Fuller would capture his first ever feature win of his career. Fuller would celebrate with family and friends in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle proving he is now among the top of the field. Brown would come home second with one time leader Miller a solid third on the night. Billie Hoover would place second in car # 97 with Marty Powell #9P notching another top five.

USRA B-Modifieds would put on a show of epic proportions for the entire crowd in attendance as they took to the track. As the green would fall on the field of competitors, Heat race winner Jeremy Pittsenbarger #32p would take the lead holding off the hard challenges of Eddie Schwope Jr #91 and Doug Keller #7 in the early stages. Midway through the feature Keller would make his mo0ve to the front and never look back picking up his second win at I-35 Speedway of the 2017 racing season. Schwope, who was in the mix the entire feature, would end the race a very close second with other heat race winner Shadren Turner #17 a very impressive third. Fourth would go to #57 Randy Ainsworth with a hard charging Bud Wilson #20X fifth.

USRA Stock Car would be next to take the track with a loaded field of competitors doing battle. Brad Whitney #X9 would take the lead and never relinquish on his way to his first win of 2017 at I-35 Speedway. The field of competitors would strut their stuff proving the quality of drivers as they would not see the caution going green to white to checkers. Second and third was a battle of heat race winners at Alvie Christofferson #22X would finish second with Mich Ross #34X a very close third place. Fourth would see Dean Hensler #8, in his first appearance of the year at the track racing to the front with a good finish holding a very fast Jon Boller JR #20X to fifth.

Then it was time for the high flying, fire breathing, alcohol drinking, USRA Modifieds to take the fast and smooth 3/8th mile speedway. At the drop of the green flag Shayne Bailey #7 would make a statement pulling out to a comfortable lead only to see it dissipate as the race progressed. Bailey would be challenged every lap by Houston Johnson #97 who found the high grove to his liking but would fade late to place fifth. Next to challenge Bailey would be Cory Ray #69N as he raced to second then slipped in turn #2 bringing out the caution and moving him to the rear. Baily would continue to set the pace as Bobby Penny #16 would challenge late coming up a little short placing second on the night. Bailey would continue to lead and pick up his first win at I-35 Speedway and celebrate in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle. Penny was second with Bud Wilson #96J third, Austin Johnson #98 fourth and Houston Johnson fifth. Heat race winners were Shayne Bailey and Nic Hanes #17X who was in the hunt until mechanical issues took him from contention.

I-35 Speedway would like to congratulate the kids winning the bikes donated by Donnie Brown, enjoy those bikes!! We invite everyone back next Saturday Night for more “Dirt Trackin at its Best”!!

We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings