Huls Races To Victory Lane Capturing $3000 In The 3rd Annual Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special At I-35 Speedway

By Track Announcer Mark Merrell

 (Winston, MO)

The race fans that filled the grandstands at I-35 Speedway never sat down, during the fun filled action packed night of racing. The American Racer USRA Stock Cars were top of the bill, and the final feature of the evening, competing in the 3rd Annual Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special. The High banked 3/8 Mile track also featured 8 additional divisions of racing.

Thirty-eight USRA American Racer Stock Cars were split into five separate heat races. Two B-Mains would provide the final 8 drivers for the A-Main. Steve Jackson, Kacey Shields, Donavon Nunnikhoven, and Gary Donaldson transferred from B-Feature 1. Nick Whalen, Conner Masoner, Thomas Roberts, and Calvin Teel raced their way into the Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special in B-Feature 2. Race promoter Vicki Davis chose 5th place finisher Jason Ryun to join the A-Feature, setting the field of 25 to race for a 6 foot tall trophy, and $3000 for the win.

The E-Mods led off the A-Features. A full field of twenty four racing machines lined up to take the green flag. As the race began, Jessie ‘James’ Mulich ran to the front of field, passing pole sitter John Ross for the lead. Mulich was challenged several times during caution flag restarts, including Steven Makar, Ross, Kody Parrott, Jeremy Curless, And Shaunie Lanning. Mulich kept the field behind him, scoring his second feature win of the year At I-35 Speedway.

Ron Hill has already raced to McCarthy Auto Group Winner’s Circle 8 times this year at I-35 Speedway in the Pure Stocks. Hill appeared to be on his way to a 9th win. Greg Gilbert and Hill went after the lead, lap after lap. C J Turner made a successful bid for 2nd, racing by Gilbert. Hill stayed in just in front Turner for the apparent win, but, a post race disqualification sent Turner to McCarthy Auto Group Winner’s Circle, with Gilbert 2nd, Blaine Younts 3rd, Cody King 4th, and Jr Billings 5th.

Bobby Penny had an impressive win last week, besting Tommy Cordray for the Midwest Limited Late Models win. Cordray started in front of Penney, outside row one. Gregg Truelove began from the pole position, with Mike Taylor Jr inside the 2nd row. Truelove And Cordray raced towards to front, with Penny and Taylor. Cordray scrambled to the front, with Penney on his tail. Penney attempted to get by Cordray, but the Browning, Missouri native somehow kept Penney behind him, earning, one for the thumb, his 10th feature win at I-35 Speedway this year.

The POWRi Midwest Lightning Sprint Cars are always a fan favorite. Stanley Kreisel was amazingly quick as the green flag flew. Bobby Layne quickly put his sprint car into 2nd. Kreisel drove away from the field, and into McCarthy Auto Group Winner’s Circle for the first time this year At I-35 Speedway.

The Show Me Vintage Racers always provide a variety of race cars, and fun racing. Mystery driver, Elmer Fudd has been the class of the Series at I-35 Speedway this year. Fudd proved again to be the car to beat, running from mid-pack to the lead, capturing his 3rd victory this year At I-35 Speedway.

When the 17t of Shadren Turner starts from the pole position for the feature, everyone knows they will have their work cut out for them to get the win in the Out Pace USRA B-Mods. With seventeen B-Mods behind him, Turner wasted no time heading to the lead. Tim Galvin put heavy pressure on Turner. Tim Eaton And Nic Hanes were side-by-side racing for third, just behind Turner and Galvin. Turner held on for his 4th feature win At I-35 Speedway this season.

In the Sport Compacts, John Willard captured his 6th trip to McCarthy Auto Group Winner’s Circle this year. Willard began his quest from the pole position, with David Miller III to Willard’s right. Miller put pressure on Willard, but to no avail. Miller finished 2nd, Joseph Mick 3rd, Devin Schmidt 4th, and Chris Lewis 5th.

The USRA A-Mods were the precursor to the feature of the evening. Their race would prove to be another exciting one for the win. Ed Noll started on the pole position, looking for his first win the year at I-35 Speedway. Mark Schafman filled out the front row. Noll raced to an early lead, with Darren Shaw, Dennis Elliott, Schafman, and Richard Layne In the lead pack.

Zach Sanders was also slicing his way through the group of cars in a high speed traffic jam. Elliott tried the low side to no avail, and the high side cushion. Eventually, Elliott ran by for the lead, Noll was passed by Sanders in the late stages of the race, as Noll faced off with Schafman. Elliott raced to McCarthy Auto Group Winner’s Circle, earning his 4th feature victory this year. Sanders finished 2nd, Noll 3rd, Schafman 4th, and Layne 5th.

The first two annual Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Specials have been thrilling to the end, and with $3000 going to 1st, $2000 for second, $1000 for 3rd, and &

$900 for 4th, fans knew the 3rd Annual event would prove to be another action packed feature once again. The fans were certainly not disappointed, as 25 American Racer USRA Stock Cars raced on the track one-by-one for driver introductions, each carrying an American flag from the drivers’s side windows. Fans stood, filled with anticipation. Abe Huls started from the pole, with Austin O’Neal to his right. Jason Estes, and two-time champion of the Gary Davis super 66 Stock Car Special, Brett Heeter were the occupants of row two. As the green flag flew, Huls shot to the lead. Most eyes were on Heeter, waiting to see if he could make it 3 wins in a row for the annual event. As the race unfolded, O’Neal ran high on the banking in turn two, allowing Estes and Heeter to run by.

Starting inside row 5 was Derek Green. He was certainly fast, racing though the field. Estes, Jaylen Wettengel. And J.J, Baumli were close the leaders as well. Heeter and Huls raced in a break away for the lead. Lap after lap, Heeter did his best to get by Huls, edging out for the lead at times by half a car length. Huls never failed to answer back, looking quick out of turn four, but not so at the exit of turn 2. During the final stages of the race, Heeter tried a slide job from the inside line of Huls. In doing so, Heeter made contact with Huls, sending Huls spinning. Huls, kept his position at the front of the field for the restart. Although he faced some some pressure, Huls raced to McCarthy Auto Group Winner’s Circle, earning a $3000 pay day. Derek Green was 2nd, walking away with $2000 to his credit, with Jason Estes 3rd, taking his $1000 Check with him. Another hard charger was last year’s American Racer USRA I-35 Track Champion, Jeff Dixon. Starting inside row 8, Dixon fought hard for a 4th place finish, earning him a $900 payday.

Next Week, I-35 Speedway will host Missouri One Call, Kaster Celebration Night At The Races, featuring the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series A-Mods, American Racer Tires Stock Cars, Out Pace B-Mods, as well as the E-Mods, Pure Stocks, MIdwest Limited Late Models, Sport Compacts, with a special visit by the Midwest Outlaw Vintage Racers, and the POWRi Midwest Lightning Sprint Cars.

The Little Buddy Kids Power Wheels will also be competing during intermission.

I-35 Speedway is Your home for dirt track racing at it’s best!

We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings