Tompkins Industries Night at I-35 Speedway in Winston, MO

Pure Stock would kick of a night of exciting action at I-35 Speedway on Tompkins Industries Night at the Races. As the feature got underway, two leaders would find the going tough in turn two and loop their cars sending them to the rear of the field early. Heat race winner Cletus Murray #21M would use patience and poise working to the front and would pull away to pick up the feature win and celebrate in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle. Steven Bunton #95, in a Sport Compact, would impress the crowd with a solid second place run holding Brandon Box #4B to finish third. Fourth place would belong to Colten Ishmael #17i with C J Turner #91 rounding out the night’s top five. Other heat race winner was Tyler Cadwalder #69ER who would develop mechanical issues forcing him from the feature.

Midwest Outlaw Vintage Racers would be the next to tackle the fast 3/8th mile of dirt and put on a great show for fans. Heat race winner Chris Heitman #39 would take the early lead only to see Andy Wiles #53 charge by on the inside. Wiles would continue to lead and be challenged late by Jack Simmons #J2 with Wiles holding on for the feature win. As Wiles would celebrate in victory lane Simmons would place second with Heitman third. Dennis Fair #7 was in the hunt most of the feature fading late to place fourth with Andrew Buffington #3 coming home in the fifth position.

E-Modified would see a great race unfold as Ben Stockton #33s and heat race winner Randy Smith Jr #75x would charge through the pack on their way to the front. As the laps started to wind down leader Manlee Lamer #4M would see Stockton move past and take the front. Stockton would not look back and pick up his first feature win of 2017 at I-35 Speedway and stand tall in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle. Lamar would challenge Stockton but have to settle for second on this night of competition. Other heat race winner Jason Nelson #12GA would impress with a solid third on the night with Jim Masoner Jr #66X fourth and Jeffery Sears #13J with his best night to date finishing fifth.

Grand National would see a familiar face in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle as Donnie Brown #26 would win both heat race and feature on this night. The win was not easy for Brown as Marty Powell #9P continues to show muscle in the Grand National class leading the field until one slip in turn four opened the door for Brown to take the lead and victory. Powell would end the night a very close second with Billie Hoover #97 third. Fourth place would go Chad Fuller #0R with Ronnie Miller #98 fifth recovering from an early race mishap.

USRA B-Modifieds would have it all as they took the track with side by side racing, battles for the lead, three and four wide competition and controversy at the end. As the green flag was shown to the field, heat race winner Doug Keller #7 would use a front row starting position to take the early lead. Keller would be challenged every lap by other heat race winner Danan Knott #18K and Bud Wilson #75X. Knott would use the extreme high side, Wilson would use the low line with Keller middle as these three gladiators would do battle. Each lap Keller would hold off the challenge of Wilson and Knott. A late race caution would bunch the field creating a dash to the checkers.
Mis-communications would cause the field to slow with one to go with all drivers slowing and heading to the scales. After all the scoring was cleared Keller was declared the feature winner with Bud Wilson second, Danan Knott third, Eddie Schwope Jr #91 fourth and Ed Noll #15 fifth.

USRA Stock Car would see a battle of heat race winners and veteran drivers as Jon Boller Jr #20X and Dean Wray#77 would square off in the front of the field. Boller would take the early lead and set a blistering pace with Wray on his bumper as the battle raged on. Boller would hold off all challenges of Wray and claim his first victory of 2017 at I-35 Speedway. Mich Ross #34X would be in win contention all feature placing second with Gene Stigall #S20 the big mover of the race coming from back to front finishing third. Fourth place would see Jay Barnes #19 recovering from an early race mishap with Nathan Carder #18C fifth on the night.

USRA Modifieds would see great racing throughout the entire filed of cars with Mark Dotson #85D picking up the feature win. Dotson would be challenged early and often by heat race winner Dennis Elliott #29 and Darren Shaw #11 but not be shaken as he claimed the victory. Elliott would notch another great finish coming home second with Austin Johnson #98 impressing all with a third place showing on this night of competition. Fourth place would belong to Cory Wray #69N with the always fast Derrick Hicks #78 a close fifth. Other heat race winner was Nic Hanes #17X.

I-35 Speedway would like to thank all our fans and drivers for another night of great racing action and family fun. See everyone next Saturday Night as Casey Schuman and the Lucas Oil PowerI War Series Sprint Cars invade the Speedway.

We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings