Race Recap I-35 Speedway 5-28-22

I-35 Speedway, Winston Missouri


By: Phillip Wilson, Track Announcer

Ninety-four cars checked into the pits tonight on Dixon Construction Concrete night at I-35 Speedway. It was a night of firsts as one driver picked up her first career feature win and two other drivers picked up their first feature wins in new classes.

As they always are, the E-Mods were first to hit the track. Casey Burnett parked it back in victory lane, but it would not come without many challenges. Adam Dunwoodie put the pressure on Burnett numerous times on restarts but would have to settle for second. Last week’s feature winner Aaron Jones had a good run finishing third. Peyton Baker, the young quarterback out of Gallatin, MO would pick up fourth for his best career finish, followed by Kenny Reed in fifth also with a good run.

The Pure Stocks had eight different winners in eight weeks coming into the night. Earlier this week, Pure Stock driver Brandon Dixon would throw down a challenge for a driver to come make it nine. The driver accepting that challenge would be his very own daughter, 13-year-old Ava Dixon, as she picked up her first career feature win and is also the current points leader. Dixon slipped by Tobin Bartlett on the inside with two laps to go to pick up the win. Bartlett would finish second, followed by Brandon Dixon, Chet Yates, who led some laps on the night, and Leroy Morrison.

In Midwest Limited Late Models, Houston Johnson stepped behind the wheel of his brother’s car to pick up the win. Tucker Cox made his first trip to I-35 Speedway this season a good one as he finished second. Paul Glendenning would finish third, Ed Noll fourth and Brad Dibben fifth.

Defending E-Mod track champion Michael Taylor III would step up to the USRA B-Mods ranks this season and had looked good up to this point. Tonight, “The Nighthawk” would break through and pick up his first career USRA B-Mod feature win. Colin Pierce, who only has a few starts this season would have a good run finishing second. Corey Myers and Tyler Cadwallader would finish third and fourth after a long hard battle. Krew Walburn would round out the top five picking up numerous positions.

Another driver making the change from E-Mods this season is Kameron Hanes. Hanes now in the USRA Stock Cars has looked impressive thus far. ‘The Outlaw” would outrun his old-man Nic Hanes and Jason Estes to pick up his first career USRA Stock Car feature win. Estes and Nic Hanes would have a great battle with Estes picking up second and Hanes third. Brad Whitney and Chester Kaufman would have their own battle finishing fourth and fifth.

In the USRA Modifieds, Steven Bowers Jr would pick up his first feature win of the season at I-35 Speedway. Bowers had to deal with some great competition as Tyler Hibner came in second, Lee Hibner third, Houston Johnson fourth and Daniel Harris fifth.

Brad Mick would finally get the monkey off his back this season as he picked up his first win this year at I-35 Speedway.  Five-time feature winner Isaiah Penton would put the pressure on by finishing second. Defending track champion Harold Robb Sr would finish third, followed by Harold Robb Jr and James Barr who each had good runs.

In Little Buddies Power Wheels action, Racelyn Romesburg would pick her first career feature win, followed by Hayden Romesburg, Lilian Withrow, Weston Romesburg, Kinsley Fuller and Cali Booher.

Congratulations to this week’s fan of the week Baylee Dawkins, sponsored by Dixon Racing, Corey Myers Racing, Noll Racing and Chet Yates Racing.

Next Saturday starts our month of June racing with some big races coming up. Join us next week for Racin’ Dirt Night with Midwest Lightning Sprints. Make sure you are at I-35 Speedway on June 18th for the Finished Strong Mike Tanner Memorial Stock Car special, $1,220 to win and $250 to start.

We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings