I-35 Speedway Season Ending 2019 Banquet

I-35 Speedway’s super fun, super exciting, super 2019 racing season has officially come to an end with the always fun season ending banquet on November 2, 2019. Over 240 people attended the night of celebration! Champions went home with 7.5-foot-tall trophies, the envy of the racing community.  A fun exciting banquet night ended the 2019 I-35 Speedway racing season.

A very happy social hour took place where racing stories from 2019 and plans for 2020 were discussed.  A delectable meal of Smoked Pork and/or Chicken, Mashed Potatoes, Green Beans, Macaroni and Cheese, a Roll, was provided by Pit Stop Catering with dessert of cookies and cupcakes readily available.  Lisa Burlington had the shutter constantly opening and closing on the camera capturing the banquet happenings.

After dinner, Master of Ceremonies Mark Merrell took to the stage and hosted the evening’s awards.  Track owners Mike and Kyle Johnson were called to the stage to present the awards.  The Top Drivers in Sport Compacts were the first to be honored, followed by the E Mods, Pure Stocks, Midwest Limited Late Models, USRA B Mods, USRA Stock Cars, and USRA A Mods.  Congratulations to the 2019 Champions: Sport Compacts John Willard, E Mods Shaunie Lanning (first female I-35 Speedway E Mod champion), Pure Stocks Ron Hill, Midwest Limited Late Models Tommy Cordray, USRA B Mod Chase Galvan, USRA Stock Cars Jeff Dixon, and USRA A Mod Dennis Elliott.

Gregg Truelove was the Sportsman of the Year for his always graceful acceptance of the results and the challenge to beat season long point leader Cordray.  Exciting news we had four Rookies of the Year.  In the Pure Stock Hot Shoe Ryan Thurman earned Rookie of the Year, Jared Weidmann was the top rookie in the E Mods, USRA Stock Car Rookie of the Year was Tommy Ground by finishing ahead in track points of fellow rookie David Davis, and USRA A Mod Rookie Cole Moore who finished 38th in National USRA Points.  The Surprise Award of the Night was the Super Fan Award presented to the lady who is a bit noisy, lots of fun, and occasionally has a blue tongue, Super Fan Darla Dixon.

Special Recognition Awards were presented to the Community Ambulance Service of Daviess County and Bridgeman’s Wrecker Service.  The Gene Tuttle Award winner was Michael Hillyard for his work in lineup and post-race.

The Awards ceremony culminated with Cletus “Mudcat” Murray, Gene Stigall, the Bridgeman Family, and J. D. Green being inducted into the 2019 class of the I-35 Speedway Hall of Fame.  Kayce Terhune closed the banquet with surprise appreciation award for Kyle Johnson.

Now onto the 2020 racing season, keep watching for I-35 Speedway press releases and social media for exciting news concerning next year’s schedule, classes, and other exciting information.  Driver’s Meeting for 2020 is scheduled for January 11 at the Trackside Bar and Grill starting at 10 a.m.


We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings