I-35 Speedway Race Recap May 1, 2021

I-35 Speedway

Winston, Mo.


By: Phillip Wilson, Annoucer/P.R.

It was the Earley Tractor Cletus “Mudcat” Murray memorial at I-35 Speedway this past Saturday. 117 cars checked in to the pits to celebrate a great man, competitor, father, son, brother and man. Cletus was a one of a kind man who had a famed saying “Respect Everyone, Fear no one” and Cletus was well respected by everyone he met.

Michael Taylor III roared into victory lane for the second consecutive week in the E-Mod division. He was followed by George Burnett, Chet Yates, Adam Dunwoodie and Rodney Rash all with good runs in the top 5. Heat races were won by Josh Marshall, George Burnett, Mark Anderson and Chet Yates. Jaden Polley won the B-Feature and Lane Mathews gained 12 spots to get the hard charger.

Rieli Yonts got out front early and never looked back enroute to his first Pure Stock win of 2021. Yonts was challenged often but was able to hold off defending track champion Brandon Dixon, Colton Couch, Travis Cavin and Kris Foote. Heat races were won by Yonts, Dixon and Johnny Price. Kris Foote and Darrion McLaughlin both gained 9 spots to nab the hard charger.

Kerry Davis picked up his 2nd Midwest Limited Late Model victory of the season but it didn’t come easy. Davis was challenged throughout the race by Tommy Cordray and Houston Johnson but they woukd settle for 2nd and 3rd respectively. 4th went to Paul Glendenning and 5th to Bobby Penney. Heat race winners were Davis and Michael Dotson with Johnson picking up the hard charger.

Sport Compacts were next to tackle the famed 3/8ths dirt miles oval with David Miller driving his #55 machine to victory lane for the first time this season at I-35 Speedway. Miller was followed to the checkers by Curtis Masterson, Brad Mick, Brett Holman and Harold Robb Sr. Heat race winners were Miller and Masterson with Cody Knapp nabbing the hard charger.

The Midwest Lightning Sprints were on hand for the second time this season which saw Bobby Layne get back to his winning ways. Layne was followed by the previous winner Chase Fischer, Tony Layne, Kenny Bowers and Jeff Bard. Layne picked up the heat win and Bowers was the hard charger.

The USRA B-Mods were our first sanctioned class on the track Saturday and the fans saw a third straight win from Tyler Cadwallader. Cadwallader battled it out once again with Shadren Turner, who finished 2nd with Lonnie Hibner, Colin Pierce and Shaunie Lanning in the top 5. Heat race wins went to Turner, Hibner and Corey Myers with Todd Luke gaining 10 positions in a new car to get the hard charger.

Austin Bouzek made it 4 for 4 on the season in the USRA Stock Car division. Bouzek outran the great competition of Aaron Sauter, Jeff Dixon, Michael Knight and Devin Stock who all finished in the top 5. Heat wins went to Sauter and Bouzek with Knight getting the hard charger.

The night ended with the USRA Modifieds 20 lap feature event. Steven Bowers JR. made his second straight trip to I-35 into another winning night. Bowers grabbed the lead from the drop of the green and never looked back. 2nd place went to Houston Johnson, 3rd to Darren Shaw, 4th to Chase Rudolf and 5th went to Ed Noll. Heat race winners were Bowers and Rudolf with Daniel Harris winning the hard charger.

We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings