Another Huge Evening Of Racing During Scobee Powerline Night At The Races

This past week was simply we remember at I-35 Speedway.  We remembered the events of September 11, 2001.  We remembered the airplane attacks.  We remembered the heroes and first responders and the passengers of United Flight 93.  We remembered the men and women of the military who have lost their lives since that day.  We remembered our good friend and 2017 Champion B Mod Racecar Driver Bud Wilson.  Intermission brought recognition from Bud’s family of several drivers and fans holding up their favorite drink in a salute to Bud while his favorite song, “Drink a Beer” by Luke Bryan played over the Public Address System.

At the completion of intermission Track Owner Mike Johnson announced the 2019 inductees into the I-35 Speedway Hall of Fame, Gene Stigall, Darrell Whitt, Cletus Murray, the Bridgemans, and J.D. Green.  The formal ceremony will be at the season ending banquet on November 2, 2019.

The racing on the track was a night full of exciting fun.  First race after intermission was the B Mod B Feature which was captured by Shadren Turner as the top 6 qualified for the A feature.   Next feature would be the E Mods where Matt Dorssom started outside the front row, grabbed the lead and led every lap with points leader Shaunie Lanning within a car length the entire 12 laps.  The Pure Stock feature was a battle between pole sitter Ron Hill and Brandon Dixon, with Hill pulling out the win at the end.

The Sport Compacts started a three-race trend.  They began a green to checkered race and for most of the race the field was two and three wide lap after lap covering the 10 laps in four minutes!  Taking the checkered was David Miller III.  The Midwest Lightning Sprints came out for their feature and Tom Brown grabbed the early lead with Bobby Layne about three car lengths behind.  Four minutes later they had completed their 12 lap venture with Brown taking the win.  The Midwest Limited Late Models took the track and continued the green to checkered as Eddie Schwope Jr. jumped to the early lead and left a battle for second.  Bobby Penney, Houston Johnson, and Tommy Cordray were putting on an exciting race in the battle for second.  Five minutes after taking the green, Schwope took the 15 lap race victory, with Penney second, Cordray third, and Johnson fourth.

The Outpace USRA B Mods were racing for the tallest trophy of the night in honor of Bud Wilson.  At the drop of the green Chase Galvan from his outside pole position grabbed the early lead.  He held off numerous challenges and finished ahead of Doug Keller who took second after starting 18th on the field.  Lap after lap the #7 would drop down and pass people on the bottom side carrying the left front tire.  It was a battle at the end between Keller and Galvan with Galvan taking the win.

The American Racer USRA Stock Cars were in competition without point leader Jeff Dixon in attendance.  Gary Donaldson grabbed the early lead and the first few laps were a battle of attrition.  Butch Bailey was initial challenger to Donaldson, in the latter stages of the race the battle for second was between Bailey, Austin Bouzek, and Matthew West.  On lap 13 Bouzek created excitement when he jumped the berm and rolled in turn 3.  At the restart for the last two laps West was on Donalson’s bumper in each of the turns at one point bumping the leader.  At the checkered it was Donalson with the win.

The USRA Modifieds were the last feature of the night.  Dennis Elliott and Paden Phillips brought the field to the green.  Due to a couple of mishaps it took two tries to get this race going with Elliott and Clint Lyle bringing the field to the green.  Elliott led every lap to take the win, with Lyle putting up a strong challenge throughout the race.

Next Saturday Night at I-35 Speedway it will be McCarthy Auto Group Driver Appreciation Bonus Night.  Just like a couple of weeks ago I-35 Speedway enjoyed fan appreciation, this night is for the drivers with Bonus Money available.  Catch the I-35 Speedway Speedzone on Monday Night at 7 P.M.  This Facebook live show features track announcer Mark Merrell interviewing the stars of I-35 Speedway.  This Monday it will be B Mod Racer Daniel Harris and the Monkey Man, Pure Stock Competitor Ron Hill.  Make sure you watch tomorrow, and we will see you at the track next Saturday.

We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings