Martin, Whalen and Bryant Winners on Night Number Four of the Smokin’ Hot Summer Series; Galvan, Morrison, Leal, Willard, Cadwallader, Griggs and Lefholz also Winners on Earley Tractor Night

(WINSTON, Mo.) – The Rick Beebe Heating and Air Conditioning Smokin’ Hot Summer Series rolled into I-35 Speedway for night number four and points battles began to take shape in the three USRA divisions as drivers look to the halfway point of the series.

In the USRA Modifieds, the night started with Gunner Martin, Austin Johnson and Tyler Hibner picking up heat race wins. In the feature, Martin rimmed the cushion all night long on his way to a convincing victory on Earley Tractor Night at the Races. Behind Martin, Dennis Elliott had to hold off a hard charging Mark Dotson to finish second. Dotson finished third while Austin Johnson and Darren Shaw rounded out the top five. Mark Schafman ran a solid ninth to take control of the Smokin’ Hot Summer Series points lead.

The USRA Stock Cars saw Sam Scott and Nick Whalen pick up heat race wins. Nick Whalen continued his strong night, prevailing in the feature to make a trip to McCarthy Auto Group Winner’s Circle. Kevin Anderson finished second and scored well enough to take a two point lead in the Smokin’ Hot Summer Series points. Sam Scott finished third, last week’s winner Brett Heeter finished fourth and Cletus Murray finished fifth.

The USRA B-Modifieds needed four heat races and a B-Feature to determine the 24 car field. Ethan Isaacs, Jacob Blair, Chase Galvan and Dustin Miller locked themselves into the show with heat race wins. Chad Walker transferred into the show by winning the B-Feature, followed by seven other drivers whom filled the field. Front row starters Chase Galvan and Andy Bryant battled early for the lead but once Bryant took control he dominated the rest of the feature and grabbed the win. With the win, he extends his lead in the Smokin’ Hot Summer Series points. Chase Galvan finished second, Ethan Isaacs third, Brad Smith fourth and Luke Nieman fifth.

The USRA B-Modifieds also were scheduled to make up the June 30 feature cut short due to weather. Andy Bryant jumped out front early before falling off the pace with mechanical issues. That handed the lead and eventual win to Chase Galvan. Randy Ainsworth, Doug Keller, Dustin Miller and Corey Myers rounded out the top five.

The E-Modifieds saw a first time winner in Leroy Morrison. Morrison stayed away from the late carnage and on the second attempt at a green-white-checkered finish threw a slider into turn one. Morrison slid in front of race long leader Gary Ainsworth and Ainsworth gave Morrison a shot in the bumper. Morrison hung onto his car and then held off Randy Smith Jr. to win the race. Smith finished second and Ainsworth third. Emma Martin battled back from an early spin to finish fourth and A.J. Sayers finished fifth.

The Sport Compacts of late have found John Willard dominating as he picked up his fifth win at I-35 Speedway this season. Rick Girard fought hard with Willard but settled for second. David Miller III finished third, Steven Bunton fourth and Alvin Cooney fifth.

The Pure Stocks added a new winner to the wins list as Tyler Cadwallader won his first race at I-35 Speedway this season. Brad Sheetz finished second and Albert Curtis third.

The Grand Nationals had an uptick in car count as Michael Leal found his way to the victory by jumping out to the early lead and pacing his way to the win. Colton Leal finished second, Chad Fuller third, Houston Johnson fourth and John Hanson fifth.

The Midwest Outlaw Vintage Racers were set to put on a show up front but contact between Lonnie Farley and Jack Simmons sent Simmons spinning and Farley for a wild ride in turn one. Once the race resumed, Ron Lefholz paced the field and won the race. Andy Wiles tried to challenge but finished second. Bob Werkmeister finished third, Jack Larson fourth and Charlie Kaus fifth.

The Midwest Lightning Sprints found a new winner in the winner’s circle as Ed Griggs picked up the win. Bobby Layne finished second, Greg Murray third, Jeff Bard fourth and Tyler Murrey fifth.

In the Power Wheels Racing, the six volt class saw Weston Romesburg pick up the win with Emma Myers second. In the twelve volt class, Hayden Romesburg won the event, while Bentley Hicks, Weston Romesburg, Bristol Hicks and Jordyn Dixon made up the top five.